top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

a heartfelt holiday tribute

In early December 2020, my family lost my grandmother and my daughter’s great grammy. With the holiday season approaching, and since I live closest to her final resting place, my mother asked me to put flowers on her grave. My grandmother rests beside her husband, my grandfather, whom I never had the opportunity to meet.  I didn’t want to adorn one without bringing something for the other. While real flowers are undoubtedly stunning, I opted for fake ones due to the incoming cold weather, knowing they would withstand the winter season.

 

the components of the arrangement and wreath
the components of the arrangement and wreath

I made a trip to the local Dollar Tree where I picked out a variety of flowers along with a simple container to hold them. As I wandered through the store, I stumbled upon a wreath frame in the shape of a cross. I couldn't resist buying it, along with some ribbon to add a personal touch. This cross-shaped wreath would look great between the two set of flowers, and between my grandparents.  Once back home, I set to work carefully arranging the flowers in the container.

 

final flower arrangements and cross wraeth
final flower arrangements and cross wraeth

My family made the hour trip to visit the cemetery.  The flowers and the cross-shaped wreath were a stark contrast to the somber atmosphere of the cemetery.  Our family stood together, united in our love and remembrance, as we paid our respects to these two extraordinary individuals who had left a lasting legacy.  This holiday season, as we gather with family and friends, I'm reminded that it's the simple acts of love and remembrance that can have the most significant impact.

3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page