top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

boat success

Recently, we had to pull our boat out of the water because summer was ending. We need to fix the boat because some of the seats are ripping and the floor is carpet, which doesn't bode well with water.

While our friends are always happy to help us, my husband and I are very independent. However, getting the boat out of the lake ourselves meant that one of us had to drive the truck with the trailer attached from the marina to the ramp while the other one had to drive the boat across the lake alone. Considering I cannot drive a truck and a trailer, you can guess which one I got.

It's about a 45-minute drive from our house to the marina, and I sat very quietly. Getting the boat out of our slip and on the trailer are not things I like to do. It's more that I'm not good at it, but I knew I had to do it. We got the boat unhooked, and it was my time to shine. I took a deep breath; while my husband could whip the boat out quickly, I took my time. I managed to get it on the first try without hitting anything. I was ecstatic to know I could do it even at the end of the season.

My mind then went to Yoda's famous quote from Star Wars - "Do or do not. There is no try." I love that quote because it's a constant reminder that you can sit and fret about something for hours or days or get in there, do it, and be done. If I had let our friends help, I wouldn't have been able to show myself I could do it. At least I know that I shouldn't be so afraid to drive the boat around myself next year.


looking off the back of a moving boat
Driving away from the Dock



1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page