top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

colors in art

When we moved into our house, we remodeled the basement. The floor was concrete, the walls were unpainted, and the ceiling was falling apart. It took us some time, but we moved in the summer of 2020, so there really wasn’t much else to do. After we finished all the construction work, the next step was to buy furniture. I’m an Ikea lover, so we planned it all out and then ordered it for pickup.


With the furniture in place, I knew I needed something on the walls. I looked all over to find something that made me happy. I didn’t want a picture, as we tend to lean on the modern side of design. Everything I saw didn’t feel right for the space or our personality.


When walking into Hobby Lobby one day, they had a set of canvases on sale. I had an idea to make my own wall art. I bought them, and I was ready to be creative. And then, my creative woe set in, and I stared at this blank canvas and had no clue what to do. Instead of focusing on the design, I went to the colors first.


The couches we purchased are maroon in color, so I did some color theory and played with the idea of using complementary colors. The complementary color for maroon is green, and I didn’t want Christmas in my living room. I tried a split complementary and realized I loved the colors: light green and teal. Instead of using only one canvas, I decided to use four so I could transition from one color to the other because my wall is so long.


I first painted the background grey so it had a base color. I started on the left canvas with the green and went to the right. Then I moved to the canvas on the right with the teal and went to the left. As I got to the middle, I blended the colors. I added some white and black and realized I made a pretty darn good decision. The art is unique but complements our room so nicely. I love people’s reactions when I tell them that I painted it.

four canvases with a modern painting
My wall art


5 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page