top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

decorating is for the girls

My daughters’ friend comes over at least every other weekend. They hang out in their playroom where they have their computers and TV. The last time they were together they asked if they could decorate for Halloween. It’s their room and while I often get on them for it being messy, I don’t care if they want to decorate it.

a room decorated for Halloween
the girls' decorated room

I had bought some little acorns and leaves but told them they could use anything in my craft room. They hung the leaves from the ceiling which spelled out happy fall. Above the TV, they cut up construction paper into pumpkins and wrote Happy Halloween. They also took some construction paper and covered the lights to give it a nice and spooky feeling.


But it wasn’t those details that made me laugh. They made a fake black flame candle like the one in “Hocus Pocus” and covered it in yard to look like cobwebs. They turned tissues into little ghosts. But my favorite was that they took a piece of white fabric, put two black eyes on it, and put it over a doll to look like a child dressed up like a ghost.

a room decorated for Halloween
the little details make the room

I loved seeing their dedication and creativity in using the items we had in the house. I had bought the acorns and leaves from the Dollar Tree, but everything else was handmade. It’s fun to see that, while they are all teenagers, they still want to think outside the box and have some fun.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page