top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

football weekends

Fall means football and my husband and I enjoy spending our Saturdays and Sundays watching the games. I like a good football game – a back-and-forth scoring smackdown with good plays and good sportsmanship. When a game is a blowout, it gets boring to me, unless of course, it’s one of our favorite teams. We purchased the YouTube TV football package so we can watch four games at once, which is actually really cool.


Unfortunately, our teams are not the best of the best. Since we grew up in Florida, my college team is the UCF Knights. I went to school there, so I have to support my alma mater. We had a few amazing seasons, and it was fun to watch people when we said we were UCF fans. It’s almost like they couldn’t believe they found one. College football is pure fun and enjoyment. I love that it is students playing for pride and the fun of the game. It’s pure and for the longest time, it was the only football I would watch.

UCF game
us at a UCF game

The NFL team we route for is the Jacksonville Jaguars. We had one amazing season, and since then it’s been a lot of wins then losses. I used to struggle with the NFL because of how some of the players act on the field. I know their money goes to insurance and such, but the amount of money a professional athlete makes just blows my mind. I know when I look for a new job, the goal is to always make more money, but when a player holds out for a contract issue over money, instead of playing for their fans, I get frustrated.


Jaguars football game
us at a Jaguars game

That being said, some of the players in the NFL are pure talent. I know college football has some amazing plays but seeing it in the NFL is always a step higher. It’s not always the tight end or the wide receiver who does amazing things. The cornerback and the safety create some of the best stops in the game. Watching them now know the play but finding the guy and stopping that play is astounding, the way they can read the movements.


I can see the extreme value in having a good offensive line in protecting the players who catch the ball and make the plays. If the guards and tackles don’t do their job, the quarterback is in trouble and the running back can’t get through. It’s very much like a large dance, where each player is pivotal in ensuring the success of the team. Even if my team doesn’t do a good play, I can respect anyone who makes one. I know I sure as hell can’t do it, so it’s fun and entertaining to see.

two dogs sitting at the table
dogs loving football food

3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page