top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

organized chaos

Every few months, I get a hankering to change something in my house. Whether it be the wall color or where the couch sits, I need to make a change. I attempted to rearrange my office a few months ago, and it only lasted a day before I realized I didn’t like it.


I sit in my office 40+ hours a week, so having something I like is important. Right now, there is something about it I don’t like, and I can’t figure it out. My husband created built-in shelves for me when we moved into the house, which is great. It’s where I store all my pens, art supplies, and Star Wars memorabilia. But that limits the change I can make to my office.

My husband also built my desk, a sit/stand desk with two tables along the side. Basically, I have a big U-shaped desk. Because they are so big, I can’t rearrange them in too many ways. In other words, I’m stuck how I am.

homemade u-shaped desk
An older picture of my u-shaped desk

I was working out in my office this morning and kept going over options, and I really have none. I narrowed it down to my shelves being disorganized. Everything is in the place I want, but there is so much that it looks messy. As much as I love my stuff, I will have to remove some from my shelves to give it a clean look.


This idea got me thinking about how something like a messy office can be distracting. My entire family can walk by a piece of trash on the floor like it doesn’t exist, but I can’t. If I don’t, I feel like everything about the day is off. My kids don’t understand why I love a clean house, but I’m more productive when it is clean. Hopefully, when I get the time to declutter my office, the feeling of change will dissipate, and the order will be restored.

built-in shelves in an office
my homemade shelves pre-staining

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page