top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

school is back

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

I love summer - the sun, the warmth, the food, the fun. As a parent, I especially love the no homework part. Unfortunately, I still have to go to work, so it's not all rainbows for me. As much as I love summer, I'm so happy we are already on day 5 of 180 days of school.


School, for me, means routine. We have to get up in time for the bus (which comes at 6:36 this year), and someone needs to be up at the bus stop for the girls by 2:45. Then, it's homework, snacks, dinner around 6, and bedtime at 10. Every day, Monday to Friday, this is how we roll.


I'm an organized person who loves to have a plan. Over the summer, I let go of the schedule and live day by day. If we want to go shopping, we head to whatever stores we want. If we want to go on the boat, we bring food and head in when ready. We change our plans and mix it up when we feel like it.


However, September brings back that routine, the planning, and the schedules. For me, it's freeing. Yes, that's somewhat odd, and to someone who doesn't get it, it probably makes me sound weird. But having a schedule makes me feel relaxed. I know when I need to get the girls up when they need to be at school, and when dinner will be. I even plan my dinners for the week and have a menu on the fridge.


When we remodeled the kitchen earlier this year, I bought a large calendar for the wall. I update it every month so everyone can see who has to stay after school, when the band concerts are, and the days I need to go to work. I know what to expect from my day and week, and it's the best thing for me.


The kids aren't happy school is back because it means homework and studying. But as they get older, they enjoy and make the most of school. While I enjoyed my Labor Day weekend on the boat, I'm even more ready for school and an organized life.

two deer in the grass
Deer on the way to the bus




1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page