top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

the chickens flew the coup

Once the chickens were big enough, we moved them into their official home. They have a ramp to walk up where they should lay their eggs, and a whole bottom section to roam around. One day, I thought I would open the door and see if they were interested in coming out. At the time, only two of the six chickens decided to go for a walk. The next time, I had three come out.


Now, if you walk near them, all the chickens start pecking on the cage. They want to walk the grass and look for fresh bugs. Sometimes they stay near the cage, but other times they take off and walk in the trees. The dogs mingle between them and follow along on their journey. I was worried about how my animals would interact, more concerned that the dogs would want to attack the chickens. However, they are all good buds.


Whenever I need to fix their bedding, it’s nice that they will leave the cage for a walkabout. It gives me the space I need to do it properly. Lately, though, the trouble isn’t getting them out, it’s getting them back in. I chased one of the chickens around the cage five times the one day because I needed her to get back in. Of course, while I chased her, the others kept trying to escape. It took me some time to finally corral them all, but we had happy chickens so it was worth it.

dogs and chicks outside a chicken cage
The Dogs and Chicks having fun


1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page