top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

unforgettable experience

I’ve talked about attending Comic Con a few times recently, but there is one more experience I have to bring up. As I strolled through the aisles, I enjoyed checking out the various merchandise booths. One booth caught my eye - a vendor selling replica lightsabers from Star Wars. As a die-hard Star Wars fan, I was captivated.


I picked up one of the lightsabers and held it in my hand. It was impressively made with a metal handle. I started looking at the different models and there weren’t any I was in love with. It’s always been a thought to own one because, well, they are cool. I saw the price tag and I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money. I saw that they had a “mystery” box which was cheaper, but there was a fear about what I would get. I talked to my husband about it, but ultimately decided I didn’t want to change it. We passed the booth a few more times, and I continually looked at the designs, but still held off.


As we got to the end of the day, my youngest wanted to sit and my oldest wanted to go one last time to her favorite booth. I stayed with the little one and talked while my husband went with the big one. I saw them coming back so I started to get all our things together to head out. My husband told me to close my eyes and when I opened them, right in front of me was a beautiful lightsaber.

lightsaber hilt
the hilt of my lightsaber

My husband had gone back to the vendor and purchased a mystery box. He told me he was concerned it would be one I didn’t like particularly, but then when it was handed to him, he breathed a huge sigh of relief. The hilt is black and silver with an orange blade. I felt an indescribable rush of happiness.


Comic-Con was already an incredible experience, but the surprise of receiving that lightsaber from my husband made it unforgettable. It served as a reminder of the power of love and how even the simplest gestures can bring immense joy to our lives. That lightsaber now holds a special place in my heart, and I cherish it as a symbol of our shared passion for all things nerdy. Sometimes, the best things in life truly do come as unexpected surprises, and I couldn't be more grateful.

lightsaber lit up
all lit up and beautiful

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page