top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

kitchen décor

We didn’t live up north at the beginning of our relationship, so for my husband to meet my family, we needed to travel. We came up to visit my dad who was up here, but also to visit my aunts and uncles. Of course, that included my grandmother. We would always stay with her for at least one night.


Once we moved up this way, we would go at least once a month to visit my grandmother with the kids. She loved the company and seeing the great-granddaughters. While she constantly moved furniture around and repainted walls, (I wonder where I got the need for change from: chaos managed), we always expected certain things.


She would have a pot roast in the crock pot waiting for us. She made mashed potatoes and corn and would have chicken nuggets or Lunchables for the girls. While we laughed when we saw certain decorations that were always around, it was one of the things we expected to see in the time we visited her.


She came to our place for Thanksgiving in 2020, and the next weekend she passed away for non-Covid reasons. Since we lived closest, my husband and I spent a few weekends cleaning out her house. It wasn’t an easy task, but we put our heads down and got it done. We donated a good portion of the items, but as we were going through, there were a few items my husband wanted to keep.


While I understood the kitchen table which sits in our basement living room, and the sitting chair that is in our bedroom, I had to laugh at the kitchen décor he wanted to keep. My grandmother had a large fork and spoon that adorned her walls and that was what my husband wanted to keep. When we remodeled our kitchen this year, I painted them, and they got their own space. Even though I never understood why she had them, every time I look at them, I am reminded of that pot roast and potatoes.

large red fork and spoon
fork and spoon from my grandmother

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page