top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

mom for life

It’s funny how I can’t always remember what I did last weekend, or what I had for breakfast, but I can remember so clearly the events that transpired on this day 14 years ago.  It was the day I became a mom as I welcomed my first daughter into the world.  I saw a friend this weekend and she just recently became a mom of two and we exchanged some words, between the kids all talking and the husbands laughing, that made me think.

 

I want to preface this was a few words.  This does not apply to all moms.  This does not apply to all dads.  This does not apply to all situations.  This is how I view the world and how my life looks. 

 

Being a mom is an entire job, a lifestyle in and of itself.  As toddlers, my girls wanted me all the time.  I was the one who could make them feel better when they were hurt.  I was the one who could comfort them in the middle of the night.  I was the one they wanted to sit on while watching a family movie.  As they turned into girls, I was the one who helped them make outfit choices.  I was the one who helped them with their hair.  I was the one who got them ready for picture day. 

 

As teenagers, I am the one who is helping them through the daily girl drama.  I am the one picking up the pieces of broken hearts.  I am the one teaching them about their monthly visitor and warning them of what can come.  As they become adults, I will be the one helping them through job choices.  I will be the one planning the weddings.  I will be the one helping with the children they plan to have. 

 

My husband helps where he can, but some of these things aren’t his domain.  He doesn’t get girl drama.  He doesn’t understand girl heartbreak.  That’s all on me.  There are so many things he can’t and won’t ever understand about raising daughters.  And seeing as my oldest is now 14, I am reminded of the things I have coming in my future. 

 

Not all of it will be pretty.  I have seen tears, but I know so many more are coming.  It breaks my heart mainly because there isn’t anything I can do.  I need to teach them to manage these situations on their own.  It’s their life.  But, I’ll always be the one they can come home to.  I will always be there through it all. 



two sleeping girls
my sleepy daughters

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page