top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

crafting a lakeside memory

Sometimes, the most unexpected discoveries can lead to creative inspiration. Such was the case when I stumbled upon a circular sign at the Dollar Tree that featured mountains and trees. This seemingly simple find sparked a creative journey, reminding me of one of my daughter's favorite song.

 

The lyrics of "the lakes" by Taylor Swift evoke images of tranquil landscapes, reflecting on the desire to escape to a peaceful lakeside retreat. The sign before me seemed like a tangible representation of the song's essence, a visual reminder of its beauty.

 

materials and in process of my sign
materials and in process of my sign

I started by painting the mountains and trees in a solid dark color, creating a serene backdrop for the rest of the scene.  To add depth and interest, I carefully went over the solid color with a lighter shade, emphasizing the contours of the mountains and trees.  The heart of the scene, the lake, took shape with a tranquil blue hue. I painted the remaining spaces of the sign to represent the serene waters. 

 

To contrast the serene blue of the lake, I painted the sky with a partial rainbow, capturing the whimsical and dreamy atmosphere of the song.  To frame the artwork, I painted the outside of the circular sign white. As a final, personal touch, I handwrote the words "take me to the lakes," paying homage to the song that had inspired this project.

 

final sign
final sign

What began as a chance encounter with a circular sign at the Dollar Tree turned into a meaningful and artistic endeavor. By transforming this simple find into a visual representation of "the lakes" by Taylor Swift, I not only created a beautiful piece of art but also a cherished memory. This project reminds me that inspiration can be found in unexpected places, and with a little creativity, we can bring our favorite songs and moments to life in our own unique ways.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page