top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

dots on a butterfly

There's something magical about wandering the aisles of a Dollar Tree store. It's a place where inspiration can strike at the most unexpected moments. Amidst the shelves filled with various trinkets, I stumbled upon a beautiful, plain butterfly decoration. It was simple, yet it held a world of potential in its wings. I knew immediately that it was the perfect canvas for my next crafting project.


butterfly ready for its transformation
butterfly ready for its transformation

Armed with my set of dotting tools and a vision, I set out to transform this plain butterfly into a vibrant piece of art. The color palette for this project was inspired by nature's own artistic flair. I started with shades of blue, green, and teal – colors that evoke the freshness and tranquility of a garden in bloom. These colors were perfect for laying down the base of my design, creating a harmonious background that mimicked the natural habitats of butterflies.


To add a touch of contrast and brightness, I introduced a pale green. This lighter shade provided a subtle lift to the design, ensuring that the butterfly would have a lively and dynamic appearance. Next, I chose a rich plum color. This deeper, more intense hue was essential for adding depth and dimension to the piece. Finally, I incorporated lilac into the mix. This gentle, soft color complemented the plum beautifully, adding another layer of complexity and charm to the butterfly.


One of the most critical aspects of this project was maintaining symmetry. A butterfly's beauty lies in its balanced, mirror-image wings. To achieve this, I carefully replicated each dot and color on both sides of the butterfly. As I placed the final dot, I took a step back to admire my work. The butterfly had transformed from a simple dollar store find into a stunning piece of art. Its wings, now adorned with a kaleidoscope of colors, shimmered with life and vibrancy.


butterfly dot art
butterfly dot art

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page