top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

double-sided holiday craft

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not one for holiday decorating, but one practical solution to this dilemma is the creation of double-sided holiday signs. Just like all other craft projects, this one started with a trip to our local Dollar Tree for wooden squares which would serve as the canvas for our seasonal masterpiece. Before deciding on a design, I decided to do the easy part – give them a fresh, clean look by painting them white. This neutral base would make it easy for our designs to shine. Once the paint was dry, it was time to turn to my trusty Cricut machine to bring my creative visions to life.


I started by browsing through various fall-themed images and fonts, within Cricut Design Space. I wanted to capture the essence of autumn with warm elements like pumpkins, leaves, and cozy sayings. Dark red, orange, and brown were the fall-like color scheme. For the Christmas side, I opted for classic holiday elements like ornaments, a tree, and joyful greetings. Red, gold and green were my chosen color scheme to evoke that festive feeling.

design concept
the design concept

After finalizing the designs, it was time to load the vinyl into my Cricut machine. With a click of a button, the machine precisely cut out the design, ensuring clean lines and intricate details. Once weeded, I used transfer tape to carefully lift the vinyl design and apply it to the painted wooden square. This part required a steady hand and patience to ensure perfect placement. I added holes in all four corners of the squares to connect the signs.

final signs
final signs

The final result was a charming and practical addition to my holiday decor. When fall gives way to the Christmas season, all I have to do is flip the signs, and my home instantly transforms into a winter wonderland. Creating these double-sided holiday signs allowed me to have the warmth and joy of both fall and Christmas without the need for extensive decor changes. Plus, it's a creative outlet that's both fun and fulfilling, making the holiday season even more special.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page