top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

early morning problems

Have you ever had one of those mornings that starts out horribly? I feel like every other week I have one. You never know when to expect it, but nothing goes right. Sometimes, it even makes the rest of your day go to the crapper.


The worst days are when I wake up late. Even though my daughters are 12 and 13, I find myself needing to wake them up for school. They claim they set their alarms, but sometimes I am not sure. So, when I wake up late, it means they wake up late and the morning is a panic rush in getting everything ready.


I have a rule in my house that when they get home from school, they need to put any papers I should see on the kitchen table. Then, when I come up for dinner, I can address them. Of course, my girls conveniently forget this rule often and I find myself reading class papers or signing permission slips as we are walking out the door. They need them signed, but for me, that rush of needing to do it in under two minutes is rough.

two girls boarding a yellow school bus
girls getting on the bus

Normally my girls tell me everything, but occasionally, I find out in the morning that someone didn’t feel good the night before or has had a headache since the previous day. It boggles my mind because I don’t understand why they don’t tell me when it’s happening. I mean they can play on their computers and talk to their friends and it doesn’t matter, but getting ready for school makes it a problem.


When my morning starts in chaos, it makes my day a struggle. Some mornings I can handle it better than others, but sometimes it pushes me too far. I don’t like to be the angry mom that my kids wouldn’t like, and I don’t like sending them to school when we recently fought. It happens sometimes, but embracing the chaos means while waiting for the bus, we have to talk about it to ensure the rest of the day isn’t a bust.

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page