top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

family symbol

I’ve seen a lot of ads for necklaces that take the letters of a person’s name and create a symbol of sorts. I was messing around with my name and I was able to create my own. I started looking at it and thought about what I would need to add to include my daughter’s and husband's names. Turned out I didn’t need too many more lines. I thought this would look nice on a canvas hanging in my basement.

two dogs standing on a desk
the one "paint only" image I have, featuring M and J

I drew it in the center of the canvas and then decided it needed color. I wasn’t sure how I wanted to do this so I of course headed to Pinterest. I found a unique mandala that played off of squares (Check it out here: square mandala) and I thought that would be awesome to mimic. That made me think about the colors and I decided I would color each layer of square a different color.

a painting mid-process
family symbol centered and drawings started

The red in the middle was solid, but the green and blue included a little white on one side to have a blend of color, so it wasn’t flat. I added the lines with a black Sharpie and then stared once again at the canvas. The first section I moved to was the outside with the flower pattern and decided I would do that on both blue and green layers. I liked the similarity but differences in the pattern and size. Finally, I had to go with my gut and add the other designs in the remaining sections.


painting with mandala
final painting with mandala pattern

Interestingly enough, you can spell quite a few names with this symbol, including M and J’s. The red really pops but then there is a subtle transition from a darker to lighter blue and the same with the green. With the patterns not being colored in, you can see the painted colors well which adds to the fun of this. I have this hanging in my basement right by our bar, so I can share it with any friends that come to visit.

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page