top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

hexagonal ajh signs

There’s something incredibly exciting about finding an item that not only sparks your interest but also ignites your creativity. As someone with a fondness for hexagon shapes, I was instantly drawn to these hexagonal wall decor. The signs had a bee design on them so I knew I would need to "erase" those.


The first step in my crafting journey was to create a flat surface on each sign. The bee design, though cute, had a bit of depth to it that I needed to even out. So, I decided to fill in the recessed areas to make the surface flat. Once the signs were prepped and ready, I painted them white. The white paint not only covered the original design but also served as a bright and neutral background for my next steps.


prepped for the next step
prepped for the next step

To add a personal touch to each sign, I decided to draw initials on them – 'a', 'j', and 'h'. Choosing the right colors for this project was crucial. I was particularly keen on using teal and plum, two colors that I absolutely loved. However, I needed a third color that would complement these two and tie the whole design together. After some deliberation, I settled on yellow – a color that naturally goes well with the bee theme and adds a cheerful pop of brightness.


one coat done
one coat done

To ensure that each sign had a cohesive and balanced look, I cycled through the colors – teal, plum, and yellow – so that each sign featured all three. This approach created a unified theme across the signs while allowing each one to have its unique flair.


The end result was a trio of beautiful, personalized hexagonal signs, each buzzing with character and charm. They were not just decorations but symbols of creativity and personal expression. Hung together, they formed a delightful display, brightening up the space with their cheerful colors and whimsical design.


final signs in place
final signs in place

0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page