top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

inspiration for a sign

I received this sign from a friend as a decoration for my office. I placed it on the wall and always think of them when I see it. As my office has changed in theme, the sign unfortunately stopped blending in. I didn’t want to get rid of it, so I thought I would redesign it. I know that probably makes me a bad person, but I felt adjusting the sign to my office was better than throwing it away. I made a snap judgment at the time and went for this polka dot look mainly because I wanted to use the new paint pens I purchased. Two years later I hate what I did.

sign with polkadots
polka dot sign design

I decided to first paint it all black and start with a fresh canvas. I knew I wanted to put the “ajh” on there so I printed it on my Cricut and placed it on the sign. Then I sat and stared at it. I stared and I stared. I then decided to add a blue and red paint blend to the sign. I chose those colors because they are the light and dark colors from Star Wars. I thought it would look awesome but when I removed the vinyl, I hated it all.


I walked away from the sign for a while and started to look on Pinterest for inspiration. After hours of looking at pen doodles, crafts, Disney, Star Wars, and mandalas, I finally saw something that inspired me. It was a word on a canvas that was created by pins. From the corners of the canvas to the edge of the letters was a string, so that the letters were white but around the rest of the canvas was string.

sign with lines and ajh
redesigned sign

I didn’t want to use string, so I decided drawing lines would be similar. I decided to use my metallic pens because they were different and honestly, I just wanted to use them. I first added the silver lines in the background. I was happy with this but then I felt it needed a pop. I went back to the pens and found the red and blue and knew it was a brilliant idea. Overall, I love this redesign, and I love it even more knowing the sign originally came from a good friend of mine.


Original Paint Pens Used: Paint Markers for Wood, Canvas, Plastic, Ceramic, Glass


Metallic Pens Used: Metallic Marker Pens, Set of 10 Medium Point


Pinterest Inspiration: Diy Prince Crafts

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page