top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

labor day regrets

Updated: Sep 7, 2023

Yesterday was one of those "embrace the chaos" days.


The kids were off from school, so we decided to have a family lunch with some shopping. We ate at Chick-fil-A, which was quite packed, unsurprisingly. Those chicken nuggets and fries are a favorite among so many people. Then, we visited some of our favorite stores: Five Below, Old Navy, Dollar Tree, and Harbor Freight. It was one of those days when you felt happy to be with your family.


Before heading home, we knew we needed to stop for groceries. We stopped at Walmart for the things we needed. Sidenote: I'm one of the few who prefer Walmart to Target, which some people I know don't understand. We live in an area popular for holiday travelers, and I always forget that holiday weekends are crazy. I very quickly went from being happy with my family to needing to embrace the chaos.


It's overwhelming to navigate a crowd. It's worse when the people are there on vacation and don't know what they want. In our case, large families or groups of families stand in the aisles trying to decide if they want chips or pretzels. Then, we realized we needed to make three more stops after Walmart. As the afternoon passed, the kids' patience was running thin. I get it because going in and out of stores is exhausting. However, it wasn't helping.


I blame the holiday weekend for the transition yesterday. I tell this story about my day to remind everyone that it is easy to go from being perfectly happy and content with life to being surrounded by chaos. It's also easy to go from embracing the chaos to being perfectly happy. Once I got home and comfortable, surrounded by my doggos, I realized yesterday's events didn't change anything. They just brought a little chaos.

two dogs cuddling on a woman's lap
The Doggos Cuddling



0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page