top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

middle school is chaos

I still remember when my kids were 1 and 2. It isn’t easy to forget as they were 18 months apart, meaning neither could speak well and both were in diapers at the same time. We wanted our kids close in age, so it wasn’t unplanned. However, it led to long days sometimes. Looking back, I wouldn’t change a thing. They learned to become best friends and are experiencing the same things in life. With both in middle school though, it’s not easy.


I went to a Catholic school from 2nd-8th grade so my elementary and middle school experience was different. We had our issues in school, but it was nothing compared to the things my two deal with. When my oldest started middle school, she would come home daily asking about things she heard in the halls. I was in shock at some of the things she heard. Some of it was a phrase or topic I didn’t hear until high school.


Last year my youngest started middle school and had very little problems. This year the boys are in full tease mode. The first few days she came home in a poor mood because she thought they were serious. She can see now that they are joking, but it doesn’t change the fact that sometimes it stings when they make certain comments.


Having social media and cell phones adds to the drama. I went to school and came home to be alone in my house. They come home and keep talking to these kids. I didn’t let my oldest get social media until she was 13, and I limited which ones she could get. But they can still chat with their friends via texting or messaging apps.


I have learned to embrace the chaos of middle school as I need to be objective as a mother. I have my opinions and I share them, but I want my kids to have their own minds and beliefs. For that reason, we share both sides of the argument with them and they decide how they feel about a subject. They love that we aren’t pushing our beliefs on them and appreciate knowing the full story. It’s not always easy especially when I feel so strongly on a topic, but if I’m not honest, the chaos will only get worse.

two dogs laying in the sun
M and J enjoying the sun and avoiding the chaos of middle school

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page