top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

personalized door signs

While browsing through Pinterest, I came across a craft idea that caught my attention. Although I didn't have an interest in creating it for myself, I thought it would be a wonderful idea to craft one for both my mother and mother-in-law as Christmas gifts, given that it's something they could enjoy year-round. The craft project centered around a circular pizza tray, embellished with ribbon, flowers, and some meaningful wording.

 

The first sign I worked on was for my mother. Right away, I encountered a challenge because it's not common to find green-colored flowers. However, I was drawn to these lovely yellow flowers during my search, so I decided to incorporate them and add green accents. I used green mesh along with green paint for the word "Hello" to seamlessly blend in the green color scheme.

 

door sign 1 materials
door sign 1 materials

To complement the flowers, I painted the tray in a soft, light yellow shade. I layered the green mesh with a lightly colored ribbon to make the word "Hello" stand out. It took some time to determine the best placement for the flowers to ensure they were evenly distributed without overwhelming the sign. I also incorporated some leaves to enhance the overall design. Finally, I attached a string to hang the sign.

 

yellow and green door sign
yellow and green door sign

Next, I moved on to creating a sign for my mother-in-law. She prefers the color purple, which made her sign selection a bit simpler. I found some exquisite purple flowers and used a soft lavender paint. To create contrast, I opted for a black and white ribbon.

 

door sign 2 materials
door sign 2 materials

After painting the tray, I carefully affixed the ribbon, learning from my previous experience that adding extra glue in specific spots was essential for a secure attachment. These longer flowers were easier to work with, allowing me to achieve a full and balanced appearance without overcrowding the sign.

 

purple door sign
purple door sign

In the end, I am genuinely pleased with how these signs turned out. Crafting these personalized signs for my mother and mother-in-law was a rewarding experience. Knowing that these handmade tokens of love will grace their homes throughout the year brings a sense of fulfillment, and I look forward to sharing these heartfelt gifts with them.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page