top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

sip and paint fun

My oldest made a friend on her first day of 5th grade which was the first day of school after we moved into our new home. Over time, we got to know her and her family and have become close with them. One day she asked if me and the girls wanted to go to a Paint and Sip with her to which we all replied emphatically yes.


I had never been to one before but got the gist of it – you paint a picture and have the option to sip some wine. There is no part of that explanation that is bad. While I sat next to the mom, the girls sat at a different table across from each other. Why is that relevant? Because that meant we couldn’t see each other’s paintings while they were in progress.


Following the instructions was easy. I was trucking along and enjoying my little gnome painting. I listened to the instructor but also added my own flair and style. For example, I chose for my gnome to be all blue with very pastel-like fireworks. I could see what my mom-friend was doing; she and I enjoyed chit-chatting and watching each other work. In the end, I was thrilled with my little painting and couldn’t wait to share it with the girls.

gnome paintings
gnome paintings

My youngest shared her painting with me first and my excitement fell a little for myself. Her painting was astounding. She chose to go with a yellow-themed gnome and without realizing it, mimicked my pastel-like fireworks. Her shading and highlights though were very impressive. She really blended in that shadow while mine was just a line.


Then my eldest shared hers and again I was shook. She kept the same red hat and blue shirt, but her shading and highlights were excellent. Her firework circles were very bold in color and added many more stars than we did. She even added a portion of the moon to her painting. She opted for a much lighter sky than her sister and I did.


I hung these in the hallway by my bedroom. Every time I look at them, I see something different I can admire. The girls are embarrassed by them, but it brings back the memory of a night out. We had some nice snacks to share, and our own version of sipping. But we also laughed and smiled together. Nothing beats that.

5 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page