top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

sweet clay models

Since we live close to NYC, a few years ago my husband went to Comic-Con with our neighbor at the time. His wife and I didn’t go because we weren’t sure we would like it. We figured the boys could have a day together, and let us know how it was. When they got home, they told us about the amazing time they had and how the next year we needed to go.


The boys kept true to their words and the next year, we made a foursome trip to the city. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was blown away by the event. It was massive with tons of cosplayers running around. We walked the entire upstairs to see the booths and then walked downstairs through artist alley where I snagged some really nifty art. The following year we took the girls and they had a blast.


Of course, now it is a tradition and it’s something we look forward to as a family. The girls love cosplaying, especially my oldest who is into Genshin Impact. She bought her costume and is currently designing something to go with it. My youngest wasn’t sure what she wanted to do and after some thought, she settled on a character from “Wreck-It Ralph” - Vanellope von Schweetz.

candy shaped clay models
original hair clips with the wrong clay

We normally try to make costumes for the fun of it, but I decided to buy her the base costume this year. It was easier than trying to find the individual pieces. She was missing the hair pieces though – is looks like she has little pieces of candy in her hair. Instead of buying them, she asked to make them. I bought a set of modeling clay, and she did some research on what to make. After making everything, she set them to dry.


Well, I guess I bought the wrong clay because they never hardened. I ran back out and bought air dry clay this time. She remodeled the pieces and, once hard, set out to paint them. I was impressed with the detail she put in and the colors she chose. She added a clear varnish, sprinkled some glitter to look like sugar, and then glued them onto hair clips. My kids are good at crafts, but it always makes me smile to see their work. I can’t wait to get to NYCC and see just how many people know who she is.

air dry clay turned into hair clips
final candy hair clips

4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page