top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

wall gnomes

If we go shopping at Walmart, I normally want to stop at Dollar Tree because it’s across the street. Most of the time, I have no purpose there. I always find something to buy. I came across these little gnomes and I thought they were adorable. I didn’t take a before photo (shame on me) but they were unpainted. My one friend has a thing for gnomes. She is hosting Thanksgiving this year so I thought it would be nice to paint these and give them to her as a thank you for inviting us.


The first task I had was to determine what colors to paint them. I knew I wanted a tan color for the skin and a grey for the beards. In addition, I knew I wanted the mushroom to have a red top and a white base. With that bit determined, I looked to see what colors would complement the red and white. Seeing the design, I thought I would give Mr. Mushroom blue jeans and I felt yellow would look nice as the shirt and hat color. To avoid adding even more colors, I made the dots on the hat blue. With Mr. Mushroom’s color scheme decided, I moved on to Mr. Longbeard.

two painted gnomes for the wall
mr. mushroom and mr. longbeard

I wanted a more fall appearance for Mr. Longbeard and looking at my paint collection the first color that stood out was maroon. I also liked the green color but I wasn’t sure the green and maroon would look good side by side. I thought the orange, another fall color, would do well to tie it all together. For both of my gnome friends, I decided they needed a pair of shoes to stand out so I used black and painted the lines enough to create the appearance of shoes.


This was a fun little project to paint. I loved deciding the color scheme and dictating where each article of clothing stopped and started. You can’t see it, but the back of both is painted black in case it gets turned around for some reason. At the end, I added an overlay of varnish so it would pop on the wall. I know I’m posting this early, but I can’t wait to share this with her for Thanksgiving.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page