top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

what festive decorations

After the school supplies are packed up for the season, the holiday decorations appear. It’s a bittersweet moment because it means that another year is almost done. The older I get, the faster time seems to fly. However, I enjoy seeing all the fun decorations that are out. However, I never buy any.


I’m probably one of the few people who dislike decorating for the holidays. It seems silly to me to replace whatever may be up on the mantel or shelves and replace it with something for the holidays. You can’t put up one set and leave it up all year. First, it’s Halloween in October, then Fall in November, and finally Christmas in December. Some people will take it further and do Valentine's Day, Easter, Memorial Day, 4th of July, and Summer. To me, that’s a lot of decorating. I struggle enough to do Christmas because it’s only up for a month. Power to the people with the energy and time for that because it’s always beautiful.

fall wreath hanging on a door
my fall wreath

The one piece of decoration that I will cycle throughout the year is something for the front door. I recently made a door sign that I use for non-holiday times (Read about it here: front door bling). But once Fall officially starts, I switch to my homemade fall wreath. I bought all the items from Dollar Tree and put this together a few years ago. After Thanksgiving, I switch to a simple evergreen wreath for Christmas and will pull that down mid-January. I have a pretty one for Spring that I made with a lily-looking flower as well.


I’m surprised my daughters don’t want to decorate more, but I think they feel the same way about almost every holiday. Christmas is the one that they still want to put up a tree and a few other things. I don’t blame them because it is beautiful. I tried to convince my husband that we should leave the tree up all year round for ambiance light, but that didn’t work. I have all the pieces needed for a new Christmas wreath I’m excited to do, but I’ll save that for a few more weeks.

3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page