top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

crayola take note pens

I’ve used Crayola crayons for many years of my life. I got to use them with my daughters as well because everyone loves a good coloring session. When I saw that Crayola had pens now, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try them out.

crayola take note pens
Pens Top to Bottom: My Valentine, Orange You Lovely, Summer Sunset, Par-Tea, Emerald City, Jade Necklace, Twilight Sky, Denim Jacket, Surf’s Up, Namaste, Lilac Bouquet, Berry Pretty, Up Beet, Little Black Dress

While the names are quite interesting, I thought the barrel colors were gorgeous. It’s that nice bold look but with some variations mainly light vs dark. I felt the red and yellow were tinted pretty orange. The light green had a lot of yellow in the color but that made it stand out from the green. The teal was very pretty and on top of that, there were three versions of blue. The purples looked somewhat close in color, while the pinks were just different enough in hue.

crayola take note pens
Pens Top to Bottom: My Valentine, Orange You Lovely, Summer Sunset, Par-Tea, Emerald City, Jade Necklace, Twilight Sky, Denim Jacket, Surf’s Up, Namaste, Lilac Bouquet, Berry Pretty, Up Beet, Little Black Dress

While with the Paperage pens, I broke it into two parts (Read those here: Part 1 and Part 2) I really didn’t like them being in two separate drawings. It defeated the purpose a little. If I could change it, I would go back, however, I can fix it going forward. But this left me in a predicament because this pack had 14 colors. After much deliberation, I decided to take my rainbow hexagon and multiply it by two. I thought doubling up colors would help.


By putting two colors in each line of the hexagon, I was able to use 12 of the 14 colors, but I needed to figure out which two would be left for the middle. I immediately grabbed the black for the "umble" "of" and "appy." It fits so well in the middle. I laid out the colors and realized that if I started with red and ended with the dark pin, it would give the best rainbow appearance. That left the lighter pink for the “ajh”.

crayola take note pens
Crayola Take Note Pens Final

I loved using these pens. They were smooth on the paper and glided as I wrote. The coverage was amazing as well. While I feel the red cand yellow could have some orange pigment removed, the greens and blues are spot on. I love the variation in the blues with three different hue points. The purples to me look very close in color. I can definitely tell one is lighter but it isn’t by much. The pinks are distinguishable as well, with the “ajh” color being more on the rose side. I am so happy I got to use these pens and think I have found my new favorite Crayola product.


Pens Used:

Crayola Colored Gel Pens for Kids and Adult Coloring, Washable Pens Medium Point, 14 Count


View these pens on Amazon/Walmart: https://amzn.to/46o5k64

6 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page