top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

nerdy case

Earlier this week I mentioned that we have been going to Comic Con for the past few years and this year is no different. (Read about it here: Sweet Clay Models) While my youngest went as Vanellope von Schweetz, my oldest loves the video game Genshin Impact and dressed up as Kaveh.


While she purchased the costume, this character carries a case and my daughter decided she wanted to make one for her character to carry. This was a lengthy process for her to do which started with her choosing a large box. After some thought, my husband thought it would be better to make the case from sturdy Styrofoam so it would keep its shape better. We bought some foamboard from the Dollar Tree and covered the Styrofoam.

kaveh case
case during creation

My daughter covered the entire case in white paint as a base. It took her 3-4 coats to get good coverage because of the foam board. After looking at the colors of the case, she asked if I would help her mix the paint to get the proper color. Since I didn’t know how much paint she would need, I took a photo to Michaels and chose pre-mixed colors.



kaveh case
kaveh case

She then spent the next week painting the design on. My husband printed the handle with his 3D printer so it would be accurate and helped her attach it well. I’ve said before that my daughters’ talent shocks me every time and I’ll say it again. The amount of detail she put into an item for Comic-Con is astounding. Of course, it will double as her Halloween costume, but will be something she treasures forever as well.

35 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page