top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

paperage gel pens part 1

Updated: Sep 18, 2023

I don't know where I got these pens, but the look of the barrel makes me smile. Not only is the entire barrel the same color, but they have a matte finish and are smooth. These pens came in a pack of 20, so I separated them into two groupings - part 1 and part 2.

pentel gel pen
Paperage Pen Full Set

Upon looking at them, there was one extremely bothersome thing: the one logo was not in line with the others. I love things in a line, and in this case, only one is offset, which bothers me. However, I decided to ignore that, even though it was hard, and focused on the colors. I decided to break the colors into bold and pastel. This week, we are going to look at the bold colors.

10 of the paperage pens
Paperage Top to Bottom: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Teal, Blue, Dark Blue, Purple, Pink, Brown

I love these colors. Pastel colors are gorgeous, but a bold pen color is breathtaking. The amount of color, or thickness, was amazing as I scribbled a sample. While the red and orange were beautiful, I was pleasantly surprised by the yellow. It wasn't a crappy yellow - it was there and very visible. The pen barrel that appeared dark green looked more like a teal to me, while the dark blue was much darker than anticipated. The purple, pink, and brown were as expected.

10 of the paperage pens set
Paperage Top to Bottom: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Teal, Blue, Dark Blue, Purple, Pink, Brown

I colored the "ajh" with the red, and it was smooth and easy to use. As I planned out the remaining colors, I saw a rainbow. I figured I would use those six colors on the hexagon. I went around the shape and used my rainbow offering. If I went over a spot, it saturated the paper more. I tried to keep the overdraw to a limit for the look of the picture.


Since brown is not a favorite color of mine, I used it for the "of" because it was the smallest section, meaning the less I would need to see it. That left me with the dark blue and teal. I decided to do the "umble" in the teal and the "appy" in the dark blue. Seeing it all together, the only part of it I don't like is the brown, but of course, I couldn't leave it out.

10 of the paperage pens
Paperage Gel Pens - Part 1 Final

These pens are definitely meant for doodling and not drawing. While they filled in the space well, it left lines in the sections which looks off. However, focusing on the colors, I'm in actual love with these. Yellows normally are hard to see, but this yellow shines like the sun (yes, pun intended). The dark green barrel is definitely more of a teal, while the dark blue almost looks black. I don't know if I can pick a favorite hue in this batch. Overall, I think this half of the set of colors is perfect.


Pens Used: PAPERAGE Gel Pen With Retractable Extra Fine Point (0.5mm), 20 Pack, Colored Pens for Bullet Style Journals, Notebooks, Writing & Drawing, School Supplies, Office or Home

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page