top of page
  • Writer's pictureajumbleofhappy

pentel energel pens

Updated: Sep 18, 2023

I don't know where it came from, but I have a thing for pens. I love them - seriously love them. However, I've learned over the years that not all pens are equal. Choosing a pen for daily use is important for a good writing experience, so I figured I would take some time to share my thoughts on the pens I purchase. Let's talk about the Pentel EnerGel Pens.

pentel energel assorted colored pens
Pentel EnerGel Pens: Top to Bottom - Pink, Red, Orange, Green, Sky Blue, Blue, Violet, Black

It's easy to tell what the colors should be by the grip piece, but a test doodle is necessary before using the pen to see how accurate it is. In the case of the Pentel EnerGel, it is a pretty close match. I dare say that you accurately know what the pen will look like based on the grip color. From my doodle alone, I liked some hues more than others. For example, the green is too yellow-green for my taste, and the black is more of a grey than black. However, I liked how it felt to use the pens. It was a smooth writing experience.

pentel energel pen colors via doodles
Pentel EnerGel Pens: Top to Bottom - Pink, Red, Orange, Green, Sky Blue, Blue, Violet, Black

I decided to use the pens to color in the ajumbleofhappy logo. I started with the red for the "ajh" and was pleasantly surprised by how graceful the pen was. I moved to the sky blue for the "umble," and I was shocked by how different the writing was. Every so often, while coloring, the pen would skip, causing me to need to go back over it. It took a lot longer to fill in the letters than anticipated.


I moved onto the black for the "of" and had the same experience as the sky blue. Worried that I got lucky with the red, I moved to the violet for the "appy" and was pleasantly surprised when it was as smooth as the red. At this point, it was half smooth and half rickety, so I wondered if there was something wrong with two of the pens. As I filled in the hexagon, I felt the orange and pink were easy to use, while the green and blue gave the same problems as the sky blue and black.

pentel energel pens and their actual color offering
Pentel EnerGel Pen Color Outcome

While I would never choose this color combination on a typical day, this was a great way to showcase the hues of the pens and test them out. I'm overall happy with the colors. I am still not a big fan of the green; the violet is much darker than the doodle. I normally like a good turquoise, but the blue is much richer than the sky blue. The red is definitely my favorite overall. I could see myself using these pens daily to take notes or to doodle in my notebook. I may use some colors more, but I like the pen's feel and the writing's smoothness.


Pens Used:

Pentel EnerGel RTX Retractable Liquid Gel Pen, (0.7mm) Metal Tip, Medium Line, Assorted Ink, 8-Pk (BL77BP8M1)

7 views

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page